Movie Review: The Man From Nowhere

Posted: October 24, 2011 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

While watching one of the Ip Man movies (which, again, if you have not seen, you’re missing out), I saw a few interesting trailers and I thought I would give some of them a shot. This movie was one of them. Interestingly enough, the trailer doesn’t do it any justice. The trailer just doesn’t quite capture the drama of the movie.

This little known movie (in the U.S. at least) starts a tiny bit slow for me while it builds up the drama. Once it starts, however, it is easily one of the best action movies I have seen in a long time. I’m not talking about 80’s type action flicks. This is definitely a dramatic film, but it is equally full of ass beatings, bullets and blood. It stars Bin Won which clearly means “Ass Kicker” in Korean. Despite the language barrier, they seem to be good, though. The movie has interesting side stories but essentially a child is kidnapped and the protagonist tries to save her from the criminal organization which is involved in drugs, organ harvesting, and all sorts of other crap.

It takes a minute to get used to the fact that it has subtitles (unless your ass can understand Mandarin and Vietnamese) but that’s the only negative. Although I can’t understand what the actors are saying, they are good enough actors to the point where the drama doesn’t escape you. It’s also great because it doesn’t have chop-socky-flying-around-people which I tend to dislike. It’s not even a martial arts flick but this movie sucks you right in until the climax (yes, I did that on purpose).

Although there is action throughout, the final fight scene is incredibly well done. The body count and blood in that scene alone belongs in a an episode of Dexter. That last fight scene is so good that it was better than some sex I have had. This flick oozes so much testosterone that if you watch with your significant other, you’re probably going to have to watch Twilight with them as penance. And it’s still worth it.

I found this movie to be so good that although I watched in on Netflix, I was DYING to watch it on BluRay for the quality. I went online and bought it immediately.

I would give this movie 2 thumbs up way high, but I would be afraid they would be cut off with all the action in this movie.

Comments
  1. kimberly merkel says:

    I saw this movie on netflix a couple of days ago.. loved it!

Give me your damn input!

