Lee’s Day Off

Posted: August 25, 2012 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

My schedule is stupid. I am currently off on Thursdays and Sundays (don’t ask why. it’s a very stupid reasoning that led to that).

Either way, this Thursday I got a random call from my older brother to see if I wanted to drive down to the Keys and fish off a bridge somewhere. I normally just stay in, but lately I have been trying to live a little more spontaneously. I decided to go for it.

It’s a bit of a drive to get to my brother’s house and then a bit of a drive to get to the Keys. It was well worth it, though. During the drive I realized that I had been in Miami since 1997 and had never gone to the Keys. Well, only once with some ex girlfriend. In fact as we passed a few landmarks I couldn’t help but remember having a good time with the ex girlfriend there, which sucked, but it is what it is.

We reached the bridge while it was still day light. I liked the fact that although there were people jogging or walking by, we had the area to ourselves. We had purchased some type of minnow (it smelled so very strongly that it took me a few washes and showers to be rid of the stench) and I brought lures as well. We literally got bites seconds after each cast.

We quickly found out that our rods were to small and our lines were too thin. We essentially were feeding fish because we kept getting our bait stolen as well as line snapping. The rods would  bend to an angle that seemed impossible. All we brought up were too small snappers, but we threw their little asses back.

I do not like to lose and the fact that I lost to a group of fish pisses me off. I vowed to go to the sports store to get a better rod and reel and will avenge my loss. Someone has to pay for the theft of my lures and minnows. I promise to dust myself off and challenge them again once I have upgraded my hardware. We now expect to fish there regularly. The fish have no idea who they messed with. I’m coming back with a vengeance. I’m climbing down from Mt. Olympus and exacting revenge. They WILL feel my wrath. I’m going to release the Kraken on their fishy asses.

Comments
  1. I await the outcome 😉

Give me your damn input!

