I received this email a couple of days ago:

Hi, I’m Elaine Chen, a producer at WLRN radio.

We’ve picked you from the Public Insight Network because of your interest in state policies. 

WLRN and The Miami Herald are working on a special project on the state legislative session, and we need your help.   Florida legislators will convene in March 2013, and we want you to set their agenda.

We’re planning a series of events: online conversations with state policy experts and reporters, and finally a live town hall event in February, where you will be able to ask questions of state legislators.  

You could help us focus these events right now by clicking here.  If you prefer to give your comments orally, you can leave a voicemail at (305) 330-WLRN.  

Help us to get started on this project (that we’re tentatively calling the Session 2013 Town Hall).  

And thank you for being a member of the Public Insight Network.  

Elaine Chen
WLRN-Miami Herald News

I had to reply:
Hello there, Elaine! Glad to see that you found me due to my interest in state policies. Actually, I don’t know where you got that from. I have a blog about any topic on earth, but I’ve never personally written about politics. Mainly this is due to the fact that I think everyone is corrupt.

You want me to help set the agenda? That’s fantastic. I think you can stop writing everyone. I can simplify this all on my own.

Education: Teacher are severely underpaid. Teachers are responsible for the future of the country. You get what you pay for. If you pay teachers so little, you’ll get any dweeb teaching your kids. Raise the requirements for teachers then pay them more. The result will be higher quality teachers, smarter kids and a brighter future for the country. Trust me. I had many stupid teachers throughout high school and college.

Gun Control / Stand Your Ground: Leave my guns alone. I’m a responsible gun owner and have a concealed permit. All you have to do is change the manner in which I can sell a gun to another person. There’s no point in having me go through checks if I can turn around and sell it to any nut off the street without documentation. Let’s be intelligent about this.

Integrity and ethics: Non-existent in the government. Have all politicians who are not rich serve as a privilege and work for a living. You’ll find that the decisions they make will be drastically different once it actually impacts them and their loved ones.

Economy and Job Creation: All items that say “made in the USA”  should be made in the USA.. 100%. Not just parts. Bring companies back to the states and give incentives for it. Legalize prostitution so you can tax and regulate licensed hookers. It’ll be safer and create a source of income from something you can’t stop anyway. Same with marijuana. Legalize it, tax it and companies will produce it. Less crime, more jobs, more money.

Outside of elected officials, with whom would you most like to speak to about this topic?  : I would talk to Obama directly. I don’t care.

If you had only two minutes to speak with state legislative leaders on this topic, what
would you ask them?: Do you guys need to hire me as a consultant? You seem to need the help. I don’t mind as long as I can blog about it.

Do you know who your state senator and representative are?: I don’t. Do they know who the people are? See, I don’t work for them, they work for us.

May we air your comments or publish them (and photos) on our websites or newspapers and
attribute them to you?: You can air anything I can blog about.

Give me your damn input!

