My Weekend December 21 – 23, 2012

Posted: December 24, 2012 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Just a recap of my weekend.

Well, my weekend was eventful. I spent quite a bit of time with my mom. It’s crazy the pace that she lives in. She’s full of energy and constantly on the move. I had a hard time keeping up with that. I certainly don’t have that type of energy in me these days. That was incredible. It was fun and very pleasant to be able to spend time with her, though. And it was great that she cooked too (and she made some incredible desserts as well). It was a little difficult to go to the airport at 4:00 A.M. but I imagine it must be tougher to wake up and then travel. At least I live 15 minutes away.

A good friend of mine had his first child. He is married,  recently got his PhD and now is a first-time proud father to a little boy. Not bad at all. Congratulations, homie! I bet that kid will be taller than me by the time he’s 11.

So I have unwrapped gifts sitting on the living room table. I have wrapping paper and gift bags. As procrastination is an art, I went to the mall on December 23.  I suddenly decided to shower, get dressed and go.
photo 1

I immediately noticed my mistake. This mall has about 4 or 5 entrances and all but one had an incredible line of vehicles waiting to enter. I braved it anyway. I knew that the rear entrances tend to not be full so I drove that way. I was right. Parking, however, was difficult. There are cars speeding through the lanes in the parking lot to try and get to a potential spot before someone else. Cars blocking other cars to get the spot, but causing traffic in the process. Keep in mind that this is Miami and people drive like idiots in the first place. I got lucky and found a spot, though it took me a minute to maneuver into the spot.

The mall was packed. It’s a large mall and yet it reminded me of an ant farm. The main difference was that I could count how many unbuttoned shirts and sunglasses-at-night-wearing people were here. It was pathetically laughable. It wasn’t even kids, either. Grown ass men with Jersey Shore haircuts, open shirts and sunglasses. Women in spandex and heels (though that didn’t seem to bother me as much). It was almost too much. Fortunately I have a habit of going places with my headphones to drown out the noise. Incidentally this also allows for me to not hear people in the boots selling me crap and for the sales people asking me if I need help.

photo 2

I found a few things and wanted to reward myself by going to Buffalo Wild Wings for a drink or five. I was pleased to find that the bar area had space, but I changed my mind. This past week I’ve had far too many sweets and far too much alcohol and not enough exercise. Certainly my trysts have not burned enough calories either. My sexcapades are not quite up to the quality they used to be, that’s for sure, but that’s a story for another time. If you want to hear it, that is… Actually, they’re rather pedestrian in comparison.

Either way, I went home instead and meant to wrap gifts, but went to bed early instead. I went to work on the 24th and will wrap presents when I get home. I’m notoriously bad at wrapping presents so I hope I have enough gift bags. I was a little disappointed to find that none of you bought me a present on Amazon, though. Fuckers.

Anyway, I expect to go deliver presents to my brother’s house today. Stick around to grab a beer or two and then go home. I’ll watch a movie with whiskey and smokes and that’s all. Funny thing is that I’m taking a new medication which coincidentally happens to be commonly used as a smoking cessation pill as well. My smoking has decreased despite me not actually TRYING to quit. Interesting what pills can do to you. I need one to erase my memory and one to improve my memory because it seems I don’t remember important stuff yet think about shit I shouldn’t.

As for my move, it’s funny how one minute you’re expecting and planning one thing and in one brief conversation you find yourself planning for something else entirely. Crazy. I don’t know what I’m doing, but I know what I need to get done! I intend to. I’ll start the year off right no matter what new or old shit storm I have to endure.

As for the rest of my day, I will be home relaxing. Maybe a bottle of wine and a movie. I want to end the crappy year in a symbolically equal crappy way. I sure hope the new year is going to bring me what I want. You fuckers have yourselves a Merry Christmas, though.  That’s an order.

photo

Give me your damn input!

