Civil Disobedience

Posted: January 19, 2013 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , , ,

Well, this seems all too familiar.

A while ago I had posted an employment story that ended with me being honest and losing my job for it. It appears I’m having a bit of deja vu.

Most of my friends know that I have been increasingly more frustrated with my job despite being there for over 4 years. I haven’t gotten into many details because I have gossip mongers who read what I write and like to discuss it with my employees. Anyway, recently I started applying for jobs to get a sense of what was out there, etc. I was contacted by a company and had a brief phone interview. I was told that it would be sent to the boss and if she liked it, she would schedule a second phone interview. In the span of less than 10 minutes, I got a second call that the boss would like to schedule a phone interview. I was stoked that she liked it that quickly.

My second phone interview was scheduled for Saturday afternoon. This was supposed to be brief and yet turned into a 1 hour and 8 minute conversation. I think I rocked it. It sounds like a challenging job and my work experience is a great fit. They also pay significantly more than my current position so I have my fingers crossed.

Just prior to that on Friday I requested a brief meeting with my boss and his boss. I explained to them that I was going to formally request a transfer out of the site I work in. I explained that I know full well that my home office will not move me. I explained that in anticipation of that, I would start trying to apply for jobs to see  what was out there.

I received the standard question of being asked how much money would they have to offer me to reconsider. I had to be honest and gave them a number. I also told them that I knew they would not dig that deep into their pockets. I’ve been around long enough to know the game.

So I sat down and typed out my email. I made some bullet points letting them know the reasons why this site now has an environment that I can’t be a part of. Although I didn’t admit it, I know full well who was responsible for those things. It goes higher than my boss and his boss. My email can be described as “politely scathing.” Subsequent to that I had drinks with a ¬†master board member who I am friendly with and explained everything to him. He wasn’t pleased. No matter what happens there are tons of questions that will need answers thanks to what I’ve done. There’s a master board meeting on Tuesday so I think things will be exciting. That said, I fully expect my employer to let me go for having told the truth. The truth happens to not be pretty in this case, but it’s the truth.

Funny enough I recently had my review done and scored very well. I got my award for my promotion (though they got the wrong title on it) and I think those helped me get attention to my resume. I’ve shown some people my email and the looks of amazement are amusing. Hell I got a call asking me if I was sure about what I was doing. I am. But I rattled the cages nasty. Let’s see how this ends. Hopefully with me making a ton more money.

Hey, employer: If you took care of your employees this type of shit doesn’t happen.

Give me your damn input!

