Child Labor Laws

Posted: January 27, 2013 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I really hate when I try to be friends with someone and they don’t write me back. Assholes.

I have seen this ad on craigslist quite a few times and the wording bugged me. The ads never had a link for me to write them..until now.

Ad: Photographer – Bella Baby Photography (Palm Beach County)

Bella Baby Photography has revolutionized newborn photography by using real photographers to take high end, artistic pictures in the hospital room. We are currently seeking contracted photographers for a part-time position in our Palm Beach County, Florida location.

P H O T O G R A P H E R R E Q U I R E M E N T S:
-Digital SLR photography experience and equipment necessary, including laptop
-Basic computer skills, including editing software (Photoshop/Lightroom)
-Must be comfortable with babies (baby photography experience preferred)
-Enjoy an entrepreneurial environment and working independently
-Comfortable in a hospital environment
-Friendly, helpful, energetic personality
-Spanish speaking a plus!
-Customer service and sales experience a plus!

T H E D E T A I L S:
-Training provided
-Must comply with hospital’s medical requirements
-Scheduling based on your availability; shifts begin at 9 a.m. daily
-Must be able to work weekends
-Commission-based; opportunity for great income!

T O A P P L Y:
Answer the following questions and send a resume, plus attach photography samples or a link to your website.
1. What photography equipment do you own? — body, lens, flash, etc.
2. Are you proficient in shooting in manual mode?
3. Do you own a laptop?
4. What days of the week are you available?
5. How far do you live from Wellington, FL?

Good afternoon. Maybe this has been asked before or I missed it on the ad. I have a 3 year old nephew and if state labor laws allow, I would like him to work as your photographer. I know you said newborn, but I think since he’s older he has better dexterity to handle buttons. He has a lot of energy and only naps once a day. He just recently starting going “ca-kee” on his own too so that’s not an issue. I am not a trained photographer, but I suspect that he may well be more useful than a newborn. Please let me know.

Here are the answers to the required questions. My nephew knows the alphabet, but he can’t type a response (that would just be silly) so I’ll reply for him although I’m not an expert:

1. What photography equipment do you own? — body, lens, flash, etc.
I have attached images of both cameras I have. I also have a disposable.

kodak

Kodak_SX_70_antique_cameras

2. Are you proficient in shooting in manual mode?
Yes. As long as he is shown which button to press. I don’t know what other shooting there is. Digital? Automatic? Stick? I assure you I can teach my nephew to do it.
3. Do you own a laptop?
No, but in all fairness, what’s the difference between a desk top and a lap top? LOCATION. If I take my desk top and put it on my lap it automatically and by definition becomes a lap top. See?
4. What days of the week are you available?
My nephew’s schedule is wide open after morning cartoons and one nap.
5. How far do you live from Wellington, FL?
I don’t know. I left my map in the other car. Can I get back to you on this?

Duncan Manutz

Give me your damn input!

