– If I’m going to be a mess, I may as well be a hot one.

Actually, this issue has me a bit down. I think it was about two months ago, perhaps more, when I started feeling some pain in my knees when I went for a run. I started thinking it was due to general soreness and figured it would pass. The pain got worse and it eventually caused me to stop running.

I purchased compression socks for the shin splints and waited for the pain to go away. I tried to run with a coworker and I wound up having to be left in the dust, hobbling my way back to the office. I realized I had to see a doctor.

I started out with a general doctor visit. I was X-Ray’ed and was told to return. In the interim I went to see a podiatrist for my flat feet. I was X-Ray’ed and nothing was found to be out of the ordinary. Casts were then made of my feet to create orthotics and I had to make an appointment to return. I went to see an orthopedic surgeon while I waited. I was X-Ray’ed (no superpowers yet – sigh) and nothing was found. The orthopedic surgeon said that although the location of the pain confused him since the pain was in two main locations that indicated different things, it was likely my flat feet were the cause of it all. I was issued an appointment with a physical therapist.

What’s the big deal, right? I knew I was relatively fit and I could breeze through. Wrong. I did a brief warm up on some type of stationary bike and 5 minutes in I found discomfort in one knee. On the 7 minute mark, the other knee was struggling too. The warm up was only 8 minutes long. I went to an area where, to my dismay, a male therapist approached me and began fondling examining me. I was asked to walk a certain distance and return, which I did. He expressed concern at how my mechanics were and was surprised to find my legs were strong. He unfortunately was also surprised that I hadn’t had issues before due to my condition. He suggested perhaps running wasn’t the best thing for me, but he wasn’t sure.

I then did many exercises and quickly discovered that  the areas they targeted were very weak. I’m talking about the bicep of a baby kind of weak. By the time the session ended, I had to twice do alternate exercises as my pain didn’t allow me to continue. I was told to wait for my orthotics and make another appointment. I have to do therapy  twice a week for 6 weeks.

By now I had heard from my general doctor who, of course, found nothing on the X-Rays. Today I received my orthotics and have been trying to adjust to them. I can’t envision running in them. Hell, I don’t even know for sure if I’ll run again. The next issue I ran into is that I was still eating as though I burned 1,000 calories every run. I have gained weight and now I can only wait and see what happens.

To make things worse, I’ve had a few bouts of anxiety and realized how much better running made me feel. Next week will be my next rounds of therapy. While I still do my weights and crunches, I miss the running and hope I can put it all together and hit the ground running.  Sorry. Too easy. Like your mom.

Give me your damn input!

