Where the hell has time gone?

Yesterday was my 38th freaking birthday. Yes, 38th. This time last year I wasn’t even fully unpacked from my relocation to Maryland. I’ve since spent a year in Maryland and moved to a new apartment in Virginia. This time one year ago I was still reeling from the changes and not focused from the whirlwind of activity.

This year was a bit different. Although I certainly do not feel like I am “home”, none of this seems quite as foreign as it used to. I wasn’t sure at first what I wanted to do¬† for my birthday. There’s so much to do in the area that I could go wild if I wanted. Heck, although my birthday was on a Monday, that weekend was a pay weekend so I could easily go out without worrying too much.

I remembered that in the past, I preferred to disappear from contact. I have always turned my cell off and not answered phone calls and didn’t reply to texts or social media until the next day. More often than not (and much to my amusement) this was met with anger from those who disagreed. Despite my very famous dislike of phone conversations, people would call me and then get angry that I didn’t answer. I would receive quite a few texts and messages via social media. I would look through them and try to reply to them the following day.I knew this was a bad habit, but I didn’t care.

I knew early on that I wasn’t going to go into hiding, but I also was certain I wasn’t going to go wild either. I just wanted to relax. I woke up very early on Monday and as I sat on the edge of the bed I realized how very badly I didn’t want to go into the office. I called in and climbed back into bed. I had just given myself my first birthday present.

Maybe that wasn’t entirely true.On Thursday I made pizza. I hadn’t done that on my own before so I was a bit intimidated. I’m talking about making it out of dough and kneading the crap out of it. It turned out very well. I got a little cute and put some garlic with olive oil on the dough and that made it harder to work with. I learned from the error.

On Friday I drove to Total Wine since I knew they had tastings. I sampled some wine and bought myself a bottle of a Merlot-based Bordeaux. It was a bit on the pricier side than what I’m used to, but I was certain a good reason to open it would come up. Netflix and I spent the evening together.

On Saturday I met up to go bowling with some coworkers. I’m an incredibly poor bowler, but I had fun anyway. I don’t even know who won. The funniest part was that in good Lee-fashion, the first time I walked up I hit a strike. It wouldn’t be the last time, but those who thought I was setting the tone were in for a serious disappointment. I throw the bowling ball with an anger and I can’t quite get it where I want it to go. It was still fun.

Sunday was a recovery day so that didn’t count. The only amusing thing was when I started receiving Happy Birthday messages and I realized it was due to the time difference. It was nice to read them.

Monday I gave myself the day off. I went back to Total Wine and replenished my wine stash. I don’t drink wine daily, but I like having it there in case I want some or in the unlikely event I have visitors (you can have the Pinot, not the Bordeaux). I spent most of the day relaxing and sipping wine, but I stopped by a restaurant to grab something to eat. I treated myself.

IMG_4836IMG_4846

Here’s the crazy part: I started getting tons of birthday messages. Don’t get me wrong, I get many messages. I once was dating someone who jokingly commented that she was a 50-message girl for her birthday, but I was over 100. Counting text messages, I received nearly 300 birthday messages. That shit blew my mind. I replied to them all.

Most of the messages were standard “happy birthday” messages (which is fine), but some others were even more amazing. One referred to me as “magnificent”. Another said “we need more people like you in the world”. Another told me she was happy she knew me. One of the funnier ones sent me this horrific image:

IMG_4845

A hot friend of mine said “happy birthday to the most humble and least sarcastic person I know”, which was great. People got a kick out of it when I posted on my own wall: “Happy birthday. You’re the coolest dude ever. And funniest. And charming.” That was met with “you’re a riot, Lee. Have a wonderful birthday with your admirer.” I did get a couple of messages talking about god blessing me and such. Those I didn’t know what to do with since I’m not religious, but I got them regardless. “miss you”, “love you”, “sexy”, “handsome”, “love”… and on and on it went.

I didn’t even know what to do with all the love I was getting. I replied to every single message. To be honest, I received messages from people I didn’t expect as well. It was really nice. Tuesday I made it back to the Cubeland (work) and found some cards and a balloon for me.

IMG_4842IMG_4844

I have 3 cards signed by a ton of people. I didn’t quite treat myself to a present and it wasn’t a very eventful birthday, but I would have to say that 2015 has been pretty good to me so far.

IMG_4847.PNG

IMG_4848.JPG

Give me your damn input!

