I’m not saying this is going to be easy, per se. I’m just saying that it’s not as hard as the people peddling products want you to think.

First of all, do you remember this guy?

10295701_10152376870481578_1734956137425845237_n

2014

Well, that guy is gone. I believe that my weight had finally dropped from somewhere in the 230 lbs. area to about 176 lbs. by this photo. Here I had just finished a very fun 5k – my second one in a month.

If you add the date of my injury to the time for surgery, recovery and physical therapy, I have been without physical activity for approximately 1 year and 6 months. At the same time I hurt my left knee, I hurt my left shoulder. I have been dealing with a shoulder impingement as well ever since.

Needless to say, my weight has skyrocketed. I am now up to 219 lbs. I’m looking and feeling terrible. In fact, I’m closer to this pic below than I am to the one above.

gordo

Heavyweight champ

I just very recently received the green light from my physical therapist to start lifting weights again, albeit very slowly. I discussed with him what my brief workout entailed and he modified a couple of things as my body isn’t quite ready for it, though I haven’t started.

During therapy I run on a pretty cool machine called the Alter G (anti-gravity treadmill). I have recently started running (only for 5 minutes) at 80% my body weight. Once I reach 90% (which should be in less than 2 weeks) I will be able to start trying to run on a regular treadmill. I’m nervous and excited.

Currently, I’m  a beat up 38 years old. Since I was a kid I have played many sports for most of my life. I have many scars and some aches and pains from old injuries that won’t get better. However, even as I sit here feeling fat (and feeling insecure because of it), I know that I can get the weight loss process started. It won’t be as easy as it used to be since I can’t run 6 miles three times a week right now. However, the point I want to prove is that I can do it. Not because there are any naysayers – there really aren’t any. It’s only because I know quite a few wonderful people who want to lose weight but don’t find the motivation or determination to do so.

I start today, albeit slowly. I already started an Excel file to track measurements and weight changes. I know the diet I need to have in order to keep my caloric intake lower but still nutritious.

As I sit here, I still have pain in my left shoulder due to the impingement. I also had knee arthroscopy, partial medial meniscectomy vs. repair, debridement of cartilage and a limited synovectomy on August 21. Still, I have no doubt that I will start my weight loss. I don’t do resolutions because they actually lack resolve. I like making life changes to reach the goal that you want. I want to lose weight and look attractive and feel attractive. I can now get started.

I challenge every person who has been toying with the idea of getting back in shape to join me in this process. As I mentioned, at this time I weight 219 lbs. My goal is to lose no less than 30 lbs by my birthday in April 27th. This means losing about 2 lbs. per week. Let me know if you’re going to join me and how you intend to do so.

Me? If I was physical able to, I would start by jogging and progressively increasing it. I used to alternate that with weights. I’ll start with going on walks and alternating it with weights. I wish I could do martial arts again (maybe in the future), but we shall see. As for you, I would say that some of the best bodies I have ever seen have been from Yoga and (I hate to admit it) Crossfit. Trust me, after some time it becomes habit. Being tired is something you can control and I promise you’ll be happier once you get up and move. Let me know if you’ll join me from here to my birthday!!

Comments
  1. B says:

    Okay. I’m game!

  2. Nadia says:

    I’m in!

    • sirtilc42 says:

      Hey, DO IT. That’s very doable at 2 lbs per week by April. It’s a little work and, if we succeed, by April we are down about 30 lbs. Take “before” pics so we can share them when we lose the weight. I start today!

  3. Vanessa Whitehead says:

    I’m in with you been having knee problems but I’m determine it is my weight! We have our anniversary trip April 19 so I’m all in and tired of being fat, sometimes I wish I was in high school again but reality sinks in I’m older and have to push my self a little harder, thanks for your blog.

    • sirtilc42 says:

      Look, do it. I work out as little as 30 minutes at a time. You can squeeze in a good workout in that time. You can also go for a walk/jog/run on the days you don’t. I’m back to being very careful of what i eat. Tonight I have physical therapy (I’m going to try to run 10 minutes at 80% my body weight) and tomorrow I’ll do

Give me your damn input!

