Quite literally, one day we were told that effective the next morning we would not be reporting to the office and would be expected to work from home.

The timing of the message was a surprise, of course, but the message itself was not. Months prior to this I realized this day would come. As my office began requiring everyone to have a work phone and a laptop I knew we were being primed for just this. I like getting paid, so I’m pretty accepting of changes.

Regardless of the penchant for lack of transparency my office has (I still don’t know exactly what happened or why – and I don’t care now), I have learned to enjoy working from home. In fact, should the day ever arrive where we are asked to return, I think I’ll opt to become a permanent teleworker. When you do the “Pros and Cons” the Pros win in a landslide.

Office drama
You know what I mean. I think all offices come with varying degrees of dysfunction. It’s pretty inevitable when you have a room full of people. You’ll find yourself among amazing people or people who are so ignorant that they make you feel as though they should wear a football helmet for their safety.

office-drama

For the most part, working from home allows me to interact strictly with people I want to interact with. Sure, on some rare instances there are video conferences to attend, but those serve as a reminder of what you no longer have to be exposed to on a daily basis.

Commuting distance
When working on-site, I tried to arrive early. I live 21 miles from the office. In the morning it would take me slightly under 40 minutes to get in. In the afternoon, if I got out on time I could make it home in an hour. If, as we often have to, we have to stay a bit later the commute changes to about 1 hour and a half. That’s all it takes in this area (DMV), if you leave 15 minutes late your commute can have 30-45 minutes more.

Now all I do is close a laptop and I’m home. Suddenly my day frees up by about 1 hour and 45 minutes. That’s nearly a full day’s work I gain per week.¬† I could watch Gigli almost four times with the amount of time I have available!

gigli

Money saving
Let’s say that driving cost me approximately $30 per week. That means that I am saving $120 monthly on gas alone. Just yesterday I filled my gas tank and I realized that since I’ve been working from home for a couple of months – I don’t remember the last time I filled my tank (honestly, I don’t know how much gas money I spend while working on-site, but the fact is that there is a significant savings).

In addition to this, my office does not have free parking. There were several lots with varying prices to choose from. I chose the closest one which is directly across the street. It’s convenient since walking too far makes my knee ache and I didn’t want do that in the rain or snow. Once you ignore that he parking garage always smells like piss and marijuana in a rap video, it’s not that bad. It is however, $95 monthly to breathe in the urine and pot.

This means that I’m saving more or less $215 monthly and approximately $2,580 per year. That’s a lot of wine. Pinkies up, bitches!

rain

Forcible social behavior
If you’re able to make a 50-item list of our favorite things and, like me, socializing is not on the list, working from home is for you. However, the truth is that I do a 9 hour shift at home and then, well, I’m still home. In order to maintain sanity (arguably) I have to go out.

Prior to my relocation I felt uncomfortable going out by myself. Now it’s just about my preferred way to get around. Working from home really does require you to go out and do things. Since I’m single¬† and live alone I have the option of waiting to see if a friend is free or just go on my own. I go on my own. It’s great to go travel as quickly or slowly as I want to without consideration for someone else. What’s there not to like? It doesn’t matter to me what it is. There’s a movie? I’m there. There’s a festival? It’s a nice road trip. Working from home means that I have to get about and I’m great company.

movies

Setting a schedule is important (eating, exercise, class work)
The one thing I did realize very quickly is that setting a schedule becomes critical while working from home. It’s really easy to get tied up with work and miss scheduled breaks or your lunch. I make sure to cook in advance so that I maximize my lunch break without losing much time to preparation and it also keeps me eating healthy.

Also, I’m currently taking online classes. Remember the 1 hour and 45 minutes per day that I now have? It facilitates and enables me to invest them in doing class work. Sure, it kind of sucks to work on a laptop for 9 hours (minimum) only to get on my personal computer and do it again. Guess what? The alternative wouldn’t be as useful anyway.

To top it off, every other day I log off of work and go do a workout. Since I don’t have to contend with a commute slow enough to do via camel, I can get to my exercise feeling pretty refreshed.

camel.jpg

Silence sucks
I know this is very subjective, but I hated working in silence at home. It’s just too quiet now that I have no dogs. All I can hear is the occasional sound of my upstairs neighbor (who I believe is a giant) walking around at times. Turn your music on!

I now work on cases with iTunes on shuffle. That means that you can usually find me doing casework while listening to 90’s gangsta rap. It’s not distracting, it just keeps the silence from making me feel like I’m in a plastic prison like Magneto.

the-chronic

Bathing is optional because so is sleep
There are days that I wake up early and shower, calmly make my coffee, prepare and eat my breakfast and get ready for the work day. Other days, I determine that I would like to sleep until the last possible second. The good thing is that short of forgetting to set my alarm, it’s nearly impossible for me to run late. I can wake up, roll out of bed and zombie-drag myself to the living room and turn on my lap top. I now have the option of sitting there with my hair a mess, un-bathed and I just might have brushed my teeth. I may not have.

crawl.jpg

No shirt, no shoes, no pants, no problems!
Easily my favorite thing about working from home (and living alone) is that I get to work in pajamas (if it’s too cold to do so in boxers). Even as I write this today I’m in pajama pants (though I did shower) and that’s it. I’m basically using business casual dress right now, but that’s because it’s in the 30’s outdoors.

PJs.JPG

Comments
  1. Brezy Rivas says:

    Good article

    Sent from Yahoo Mail on Android

Give me your damn input!

